Scholarships to Study BSc MLT (Laboratory Medicine) in Nepal

Open From: March 17, 2023
Until: March 17, 2024

The government of Nepal, Medical Education Commission has fixed 381 seats for Bachelor in Laboratory Medicine/Technology (B.Sc MLT/BMLT) program for the academic year starting from 2080 BS.

The government of Nepal allocates a good number of seats for candidates who want to pursue BSc MLT in Nepal. In 2023, the government allocated 121 seats for students who wish to study BSc MLT in Nepal. 

Available scholarship seats are divided into the general scholarship (55%, i.e.67 seats) and the reservation scholarship (45%, i.e., 54 seats). In both categories, the candidates are selected purely based on merit within this cluster. 

For example, for the general scholarship, the highest-scoring students in the MECEE-BL for BSc MLT exam are chosen irrespective of gender, religion, and ethnicity. For reservation, the competition will be only among the eligible clusters of students in each sub-category. For example, nine students who are from the Khas-Arya cluster will be selected to study BSc MLT based on the merit list. 

Health Science Colleges affiliated with five Universities (KU, TU, Purbanchal, Pokhara, and Rajarshi Janak) and three health science academies (Madan Bhandari, Madhesh Institute, and BPKIHS) offer BSc MLT programs in Nepal.  

Get more information about BSc MLT programs and medical colleges offering BSc MLT programs in Nepal.

  1. Bachelor in Medical Laboratory Technology-Tribhuvan University
  2. BSc Laboratory Medicine-Kathmandu University
  3. BSc Medical Laboratory Technology-Pokhara University
  4. BSc MLT- Purbanchal University 
  5. BSc Medical Laboratory Technology-Rajarshi Janak University
  6. BSc Medical Laboratory Technology-Madan Bhandari Academy of Health Sciences
  7. BSc Medical Laboratory Technology-Madhesh Institute of Health Sciences
  8. BSc Medical Laboratory Technology-BPKIHS

The distribution of scholarships seats for studying BScMLT/BMLT in Nepal  is as follows: 

Total BSc MLT/BMLT Scholarships seats


General Scholarship (55% of total scholarship)


Reservation Scholarship (45% of total scholarship)


Female (28%)


Dalit Female (3%)


Muslim Female (2%)


Dalit (9%)


Adibasi Janajati (15%)


Khas Arya (17%)


Madheshi (9%)


Madhesi Dalit (3%)


Tharu (4%)


Muslim (2%)


Pichhadiye Ko Kshetra (4%)


Apanga (2%)


Shahid Pariwar (2%)