Central Department of Physics | Tribhuvan University

Kirtipur, Kathmandu
Ask a Question


1965 A.D. was the year when Masters of Science (M.Sc.) in physics with only Nuclear physics as specialization was introduced in Tribhuvan University in the premises of Tri Chandra College. 

The department of physics was headed by Professor Phanindra Prasad Lohani, the first Nepalese M.Sc. (Physics) degree holder. The department was shifted to Tribhuvan University college at Kirtipur in a beautifully designed small block in Nepalese style. The intake capacity of students enrolment was only thirteen in the beginning. Most of the Nepalese faculty members were contributing initially as part time professors together with a few professors from India, UK and USA. During the past four and half decades some 1400 students graduated from the Central Department of Physics (CDP). In addition to the regular programme at Master s level the CDP has also awarded four Ph.D. in one or the other fields of Physics such as Atmospheric Physics, Plasma Physics and Solid State Physics. 


At present 120 students are enrolled per academic year at M.Sc. programme on the basis of merit list of the entrance test conducted by CDP . Seven Ph.D. research fellows are formally registered in different fields of Physics at present. Several M.Sc. graduates avail opportunity to get training for research methodology in terms of dissertation or project work for partial fulfillment of M.Sc. degree. Such research works are kept open to any field of physics within the regulation of IOST, TU and academic facilities available in the country. Collaborative research at both M.Sc. and Ph.D. may also be carriedout as per the requirement to complete the proposed research problems. Several institutions such as NAST, MOEST, Kathmandu University (KU), different reputed hospitals and other governmental institutions and departments at the nation?! lejel together with other institutions of TU work as collaborators. ICTP. TWAS, State university of New York at Albany and different other Universities such as University of Rajasthan and Jadavpur from India, Innsbruck Austria and other European and Japanese Universities etc have also played their roles as foreign collaborators. Institutions such as UGC, NAST, BP Koirala Planetarium and Science Museum. BP Koirala Cancer Hospital etc also support research works of CDP.


Contact Address

Central Department of PhysicsTribhuvan University,Kirtipur, Kathmandu, Nepal