Central Department of Microbiology | Tribhuvan University

Kirtipur, Kathmandu
Ask a Question


Central Department of Microbiology (CDM) was established in 1990 under Institute of Science and Technology (IOST) at Tribhuvan University. It is the oldest and only institution in Nepal which offer both M.Sc and PhD degree in Microbiology. A total of 30 seats are enrolled in every academic year (15 Medical Microbiology and 15 Public Health Microbiology). Five hundred and fifty three (553) M. Sc. students graduated from this department since its establishment.
Besides Central Department of Microbiology other TEN TU affiliated colleges also offer the M.Sc degree in microbiology. Each year around 300 students are enrolled in MSc program of TU which is the highest enrollment in biological sciences and also in top of all affiliations given to private colleges of TU, Institute of Science and Technology. Similarly, every year around 700 students get B.Sc degree majoring in microbiology from 20 colleges of TU of which 8 are constituents and rests are TU affiliated colleges.
Central Department of Microbiology is highly recognized in USA and M.Sc degree holders from this department get admission directly in PhD without any further master 's degree.