Madan Puraskar Guthi

मदन पुरस्कार गुठी

Madan Puraskar Guthi confers annually two award; outstanding books in the Nepali language and authors who have given outstanding contributions to Nepali literature. They are considered the most prestigious literary awards in Nepal.

The 'Madan Award' is given to one of the best works in the Nepali language within a year. The winner is honored Rs. four lakhs.

‘Jagdamba-Shree’ is an honor award given to an individual or organization who has made a significant contribution in various fields, including Nepali language, literature, and culture. This award was established in the year 2045 BS in memory of Rani Jagdamba Kumari Devi. The amount of this honor has been four lakhs since 2075 BS.

About Madan Puraskar Guthi

The Madan Award was established in 2012 BS by Rani Jagdamba in memory of Madanshamsher Rana. The first announcement of the Madan Award was made in 2013 BS, and the honors program was completed in 2014 BS. As per the decision of Guthi, the amount of the award was Rs. 4000 / -. It has now become four lakhs.

For the first time in 2013, Satya Mohan Joshi for "Hamro Loksanskriti" Chittaranjan Nepali for "General Bhimsen Thapa," and Balram Joshi for "Adhikavibhav Stirvidyut Utpadak" received the Madan Award.

After the death of Rani Jagdamba, the Guthi established in 2045 BS in her memory. One lakh honor 'Jagdamba-Shree' has been dedicated from the same year.


  • Patan Dhoka, Lalitpur
  • Established 1955
  • 01-5521393, 01-5549948