Central Department of Political Science | Tribhuvan University

Kirtipur, Kathmandu
Ask a Question


The Central Department of political science (CDPS), located in Kirtipur, Kathmandu within the premises of Central Campus of Tribhuvan University is one of the OLDEST and major departments under the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of Tribhuvan University (TU), the oldest and the largest university of Nepal. Established in 1960, under the TU Act, 1959, TU has been conducting degree programs in many subjects including in political science. 

Since its establishment, the CDPS has taught a number of students and has produced a large number of scholars, leaders and policymakers, including key executive authorities so far.

Besides running Master degree in political science, the department is also planning to conduct Master degree in international relations (IR) from next year and making necessary preparations for that.