Nominations open for highly prestigious international United Nations Public Service Awards

2014-04-05 - 2014-04-05

About the UNPSA
The United Nations Public Service Awards is the most prestigious international recognition of excellence in public service. It rewards the creative achievements and contributions of public service institutions to a more effective and responsive public administration in countries worldwide. Through an annual competition, the UN Public Service Awards promotes the role, professionalism and visibility of public service.

Who is Eligible?
All Public organizations/agencies at national and sub-national levels, as well as public/private partnerships and organizations performing outsourced public service functions, are eligible for nomination. The United Nations Public Service Awards take into consideration a geographical distribution of five regions. In order to level the playing field for nominations received from countries with varying levels of development and income, the following five regions have been established:

  1. Africa
  2. Asia and the Pacific
  3. Europe and North America
  4. Latin America and the Caribbean
  5. Western Asia

Nominations have to be made by another entity than the institution being nominated, i.e. self-nominations will not be accepted. Eligible nominators include: Government
departments and agencies; universities, non-governmental organizations, professional associations, etc. Purely scientific innovations, e.g. in medical or environmental science, do not qualify for the United Nations Public Service Awards.

Award Categories and Criteria
The United Public Service Awards is given in 5 categories:

  1. Preventing and combating corruption in the public service
  2. Improving the delivery of public services
  3. Fostering participation in policy-making decisions through innovative management
  4. Advancing knowledge management in government
  5. Promoting gender-responsive delivery of public services

How to Apply?
The application process consists of two stages.
Step 1
An application form has to be completed online. Please note that only online nominations will be allowed to enter the competition in one of the six official United Nations languages
(Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian or Spanish). It is strongly recommended that nominations are submitted as soon as possible and no later than 31 December 2011.
Step 2

  1. Upon submission of nominations, the Division for Public Administration and Development Management (DPADM) pre-selects nominations.
  2. Pre-selected candidates are asked to submit additional information including 2 letters of reference, and a maximum of 5 supporting documents (e.g., evaluation and audit reports, results of client surveys). We strongly recommend that you upload these documents online.
  3. DPADM then shortlists candidates on the basis of the documents provided.
  4. The short-listed are subsequently considered by the United Nations Committee of Experts in Public Administration. After due consideration, the Committee advises the UN Secretary-General concerning the winners of the Awards.

Contact Us
John-Mary Kauzya, Chief, Public Administration Capacity Branch (PACB),
Tel: 1-212-963-1973
Fax: 1-212-963-2916
E-mail: [email protected]

Adriana Alberti, Coordinator, United Nations Public Service Awards Programme
Public Administration Capacity Branch (PACB)
Tel: 1-212-963-2299
Fax: 1-212-963-2916
Email: [email protected]

To get more information regarding this award: CLICK HERE