University Grants Commission

विश्वविद्यालय अनुदान आयोग

The University Grants Commission (UGC) was established as an autonomous and statutory institution under the University Grants Commission Act (1993) to promote, facilitate, support, and enhance the quality of higher education in Nepal, allowing educational institutions to meet the country's need for educated workers. The UGC was established as one of the consequences of the political upheavals in the early 1990s to fulfill the people's expectations for revolutionary and qualitative improvements in higher education to aid the nation's overall growth.


  • to promote, facilitate, support, and enhance the quality of higher education,
  • to enable educational institutions to meet the national need for an educated and trained workforce,
  • to develop Nepali academia as per the global standard,
  • to solve problems and face challenges that have been historically impairing the development and quality of higher education in the country, and
  • to make higher education inclusive and accessible to disadvantaged and marginalized communities.


  • Formulate policies for allocating government grants to universities and higher education institutions;
  • Disburse grants to universities and colleges, and make recommendations to the government for revising the provision of grants;
  • Award grants for research, scholarships, and fellowships;
  • Take necessary measures to maintain the standards of higher education;
  • Advise the government on matters concerning the establishment of new universities, or the operation of an institution of higher education with an affiliation to foreign universities/ institutions;
  • Make necessary arrangements for the exchange of resources, funds, and fellowships between universities and educational institutions within and outside Nepal.

Salient Features

Composition of the Commission

The University Grants Commission is made up of eleven members. Except for ex officio members, all members are appointed by the Nepal government. The Chairman and Member-Secretary of the Commission are full-time office bearers. The Ministry of Education Secretary, the Ministry of Finance Secretary, a member of the National Planning Commission, two Vice-chancellors, two renowned Educationists, and two notable Professors are among the nine members.

Members Designation
GoN appointed prominent Educationist Chairman
GoN appointed two Vice-Chancellors Member
A member of the National Planning Commision Member
Secretary of the Ministry of Education Member
Secretary of the Ministry of Finance Member
GoN appointed two prominent Educationists Member
GoN appointed two prominent personalities who had highly contributed in Higher Education Member
GoN appointed prominent Educationist Member-secretary

 Organizational Structure

The UGC's governing body (the Board) is made up of eleven members, led by the Executive Chairman. The government either nominates office bearers or invites them to serve as ex-officio members. The Council of Ministers appoints the Executive Chairman and Executive Member Secretary of the commission from among academic leaders and prominent professors, based on the Ministry of Education's proposal. Ex-officio members include the secretaries of the Ministries of Education and Finance, as well as a member of the National Planning Commission (Social Sector/Education Desk). One Vice-Chancellor is generally from Tribhuvan University, while the other comes from a separate university.

Members, including the Chairman and Member-Secretary, have a four-year term from the date of their appointment; however, they can be reappointed. UGC initially established four departments to carry out its tasks and responsibilities: Administration, Finance, Planning, and Monitoring. UGC introduced the Quality Assurance and Accreditation Division, Research Division, HEMIS Section, and Reform Unit at the start of the Second Higher Education Project in 2007. Furthermore, the UGC periodically creates numerous committees and task-force units to carry out and perform specific obligations.

UGC has the following committees:

  • University Coordination Committee
  • Higher Education Reforms Project Steering Committee
  • Quality Assurance and Accreditation Committee
  • Research Evaluation Committee
  • Quality Assurance and Accreditation Technical Committee
  • Academic Committee.

About University Grants Commission

Higher education growth was severely hampered till 1990 since there were only two universities: Tribhuvan University (TU, founded in 1959) and Mahendra Sanskrit University (MSU, established in 1986). Only a small percentage of the aspirational population could be enrolled and educated at both universities. Furthermore, the mandatory inclusion of disadvantaged parts of society, such as women, dalits, and other marginalized socioeconomic groups, in higher education was a comparatively new notion. However, following the country's successful political revolution and restoration of multiparty democracy in 1990, inclusive higher education development has become one of the country's top objectives. The University Grants Commission (UGC) was constituted in this backdrop to encourage high-quality higher education in all sectors of society and to foster a research culture in the country.