Universities and Academies at Present in Nepal


Himalayan News Service

Before the establishment of the first college in the country, Tri-Chandra College in 1918,higher education in Nepal was nonexistent. Until 1985, Tribhuvan University was the one and only university in Nepal. In the early 80s,the Government developed the concept of a multi-university system which assumed that each new university should have a distinctive nature, content, and function of its own.

The next university established was Mahendra Sanskrit University, followed by Kathmandu University in 1990, and Purbanchal and Pokhara Universities in 1995 and 1996 respectively. While a number of schools and colleges are run under private initiative, none of the universities in Nepal is private. B. P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences is the first Health and Medical University of Nepal, established in 1994 and upgraded to the university level in 1999.
Currently, Nepal has six universities and three academic bodies in operation. Besides,the government has recently decided to open a university in both the Mid-Western and the Far-Western regions.
Universities in Nepal
  1. Tribhuvan University (TU)
  2. Nepal Sanskrit University (NSU)
  3. Kathmandu University (KU)
  4. Purbanchal University (PU)
  5. Pokhara University (PoU)
  6. Lumbini Bouddha University (LBU)
Academies in Nepal
  1. B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences (BPKIHS)
  2. National Academy of Medical Sciences (NAMS)
  3. Patan Academy of Health Sciences (PAHS)
Tribhuvan University (TU)
The first and the largest university of Nepal, Tribhuvan University (TU), was established in 1959 (2016 BS). Its central office is situated in an ancient town of the Kathmandu valley, Kirtipur and consists of five institutes, four faculties, and four research centers. The technical institutes, faculties, and research centers under the TU are as follows:
Technical Institutes
  1. Institute of Agriculture and Animal Sciences (IAAS)
  2. Institute of Medicine (IoM)
  3. Institute of Engineering (IoE)
  4. Institute of Forestry (IoF)
  5. Institute of Science and Technology (IoST)
  1. Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  2. Faculty of Management
  3. Faculty of Law
  4. Faculty of Education
Research Centers
a. Centre for Economic Development and Administration (CEDA)
b.Research Centre for Educational Innovation and Development (CERID)
c.Centre for Nepal and Asian Studies (CNAS)
d.Research Centre for Applied Science and Technology (RECAST)
The institutes are technical in nature and offer several specialized technical courses whereas the faculties offer courses generally on science, management, humanities, education,
engineering, medicine, law, and arts at the PCL, Bachelor, Master, M Phil, and Ph D levels. Among the six universities of the country, TU claims more than 87% percent of the total enrolment in higher education. In 2008, TU had 255,799 students in 676 Campuses (60 constituent, 616 affiliated Campuses), with 7,950 teachers and 6,997 administrative and support staffs and 141 programs at different levels.
 Nepal Sanskrit University (NSU)
Established in 1986 (2043 BS) to modernize Sanskrit education in the country and preserve the age-old values, Nepal Sanskrit University (NSU) is situated in Beljhundi of Dang district.
It is the second University in the country. In 2008, it has 5,446 students in 31 campuses (13 constituent and 18 affiliated) with 560 teachers and 399 administrative staff and 9 programs
at different levels. NSU offers courses on Uttarmadhyama (Sanskrit), Shastree (Sanskrit), Kabiraj (Intermediate in Ayurved), Bachelor in Ayurved, Aacharya (Sanskrit), Ph D (Sanskrit),
Language Training, and Yoga Training related to Sanskrit. 
Kathmandu University (KU)
Set up in 1991, Kathmandu University is situated in Dhulikhel, a tourist destination, of Kavre district. In 2008, it had 8, 740 students and 21 campuses (6 constituent, 15 affiliated),
341 teachers, 82 visiting faculties, and 181 administrative and support staff, offering 84 programs with courses on science, engineering, management, fine arts, education, medicines
etc along with programs at the Ph D and M Phil.
Purbanchal University (PU)
Established in 1994, Purbanchal University (PU) is in Biratnagar, Nepal’s second largest city, of Morang district. In 2008, it had 15,337 students, 84 campuses (3 constituent, 81 affiliated), 49 teachers, and 122 administrative and support staffs, offering 72 programs with courses on science, law, engineering, management, fine arts, education, etc.
Pokhara University (PoU)
Pokhara University was established in 1997 in Pokhara, one of the most popular tourist destinations of the country, of Kaski district. In 2008, it had 3,488 students, 26 campuses (3 constituent, 23 affiliated), 50 teachers, and 85 administrative and technical staffs offering 43 programs and courses on humanities, management, science and technology, engineering, medicinesetc. 
Lumbini Bouddha University (LBU)
Lumbini Bouddha University, established in 2005 lies in Lumbini, birthplace of Gautam Budhha, of Rupandehi district to teach/study philosophy of Gautam Budhha. LBU is in its
starting phase, where students have to yet to enroll.
 B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences (BPKIHS)
Established in 1993, BPKIHS is situated in Dharan (Sunsari district), to provide education in medical sciences. Its single campus has 1,070 students and 33 teachers offering 10 programsin medical sciences such as M.D. /M.S., M.Sc., M.P.H., M.L.T., M.B.B.S., B.Sc., B.D.S., Nursing,etc.
National Academy of Medical  Sciences (NAMS)
NAMS was established in 2002 in Kathmandu to provide education in medical sciences. The campus has 203 students and 142 teachers studying in 14 programs in medical sciences at
M.D. in Anaesthesiology, Dermatology, General Practice, Fellowship Neurosurgery, General Surgery etc.
Patan Academy of Health Sciences (PAHS)
Established in 2009, PAHS is situated in Patan of Lalitpur district, which is adjacent to the capital city of Kathmandu. PAHS is based at Patan Hospital, which is likely to become a major teaching hospital for the academy and is planning to open a School of Nursing, a School of Allied Health Sciences, and other schools to train other health care professionals.
One goal of PAHS is not only to provide the severely needed medical professionals and care in the rural and remote areas to produce leaders in healthcare policy dedicated to improving the health of the remote and destitute populations in Nepal and serve thereby as a model of innovative medical education, which can be replicated elsewhere. PAHS is still in
its starting phase, where students have to start enrolling.
(Source: University Grant Comission Nepal)