The Special Court released all the seven officials of Purbanchal University



Share this on:

A Fee Monitoring High Level Committee formed under the coordination of director of Department of Education (DOE)  decided to take action against eight schools for hiking fee against Supreme Court directive last year not to do so for three consecutive years.

As per the Education Act, District Education Offices can fine schools up to Rs 25,000 as preliminary action and could scrap the registration of schools if they repeatedly defy government directive. 

The committee began monitoring valley schools on May 23, and the following schools are found hiking price up to 60 percent. 

These schools are:

  1.  Rajarshi Gurukul School, Bhaktapur: Fee Hiked by 60 percent 
  2. Triyog School hiked tuition and annual fee by 25.91 per cent
  3. Kasthamandap School hiked tuition and annual fee by 19 per cent
  4. Chelsea International Academy hiked tuition and annual fee by 36 per cent
  5. Pathshala hiked tuition and annual fee by 25 per cent 

Other schools found to defy this order are  Kavya School ,  Eurokids international. 

The monitoring committee included

  1. DoE Director Tek Narayan Panday ,
  2. Higher Secondary Schools Association Nepal president Umesh Shrestha,
  3. Private and Boarding Schools Organisation Nepal president Lakshya Bahadur KC,
  4. National Private and Boarding Schools Association Nepal president Gita Rana,
  5. Guardians Association Nepal president Suprabhat Bhandari,
  6. Nepal National Guardians Association president Dharma Dutta Devkota and
  7. Representatives of CPN-Maoist-aligned All Nepal National Independent Students Union-Revolutionary.

The meeting also decided to conduct the next phase of monitoring in Lalitpur-based private schools.