Tribhuvan University

Kirtipur, Kathmandu

Offered Programs

Salient Features

Students Enrollment Status of Tribhuvan University

Fiscal Year Student Detail (Numbers)
2009/10 3,698,80
2010/11 3,89,460
2011/12 3,73,846
2012/13 6,04,437
2013/14 4,05,341
2014/15 2,91,325
2015/16 2,51,657
2016/17 2,43,746
2017/18 2,89,796
2018/19 3,04,831
2019/20 3,22,540

The aforementioned table offers important details on the total number of students enrolled at Tribhuvan University during a period of ten fiscal years.

The number student at Tribhuvan University has declined in fiscal year 2013/14 and 2014/15 as compared to that of 2012/13 and 2013/14 fiscal year. 

The students enrolled at Tribhuvan University stood at 604,437 in FY 2012/13 which dropped by almost 33 percent to 405,341 in its preceding year. This total includes 148,141 students from constituent campuses and 247,200 from affiliated campuses/ colleges.

From 2014/15 to 2019/20, The number of students slightly increases from 2,91,325 in 2014/15 to 3,22,540 in 2019/20.



Tribhuvan University (T.U.) is the pioneer university in the country, where, in 1961 only 5143 students were enrolled where as in 2002/03; the number has increased to about 213412 students. It alone has about 170700 students (T.U, 2006/07) in its 60 constituent campuses and about 86457 in the 413 affiliated private campuses. 

Set up in 1959, Tribhuvan University (TU),  a pioneering  institution of higher education in Nepal. It  is situated in Kirtipur, a small ancient town located five kilometers away  from downtown Kathmandu. Following the recent second democratic movement, Prime Minister of Nepal is  the Chancellor of the University while  Minister of Education  is the Pro-Chancellor. The Vice Chancellor is the principal executive of the university. He is assisted by  Rector in academic programs and Registrar in  financial management and general administration.

Tribhuvan University has 7950 teaching faculty members and 7122 non-teaching staff including support staff in its constituent campuses. The number of total staff is 15072.

Main objectives of Tribhuvan University

The university was established with the following objectives:

  • To produce skilled manpower essential for the overall development of Nepal;
  • To preserve and develop historical and cultural heritage of the nation;
  • To accumulate, advance and disseminate knowledge; and
  • To encourage and promote research in Arts, Science, Medicine, Engineering, Agriculture, Management, Education and other vocational fields

Councils of Tribhuvan University

There are five councils constituted as major decision-making bodies of the university.

  • University Council : It is the supreme decision-making body on policies, budget, and rules and regulations for running the university. It consists of 52 members.
  • Executive Council : Executing the decisions of the university council, making decisions on grants, giving affiliation to private campuses, and appointing the university officials are its major functions. It consists of seven members.
  • Academic Council : The academic council makes decisions on educational policies and practices regarding curricula, teaching, examinations and research and comprises of fifty members.
  • Research Coordination Council : It formulates policies on TU research activities, approves guidelines for researchers and coordinates the functions of university level research organizations. The Research Division is the secretariat of the council which publishes TU Journal, Research Bulletin and Statistical Bulletin. Besides, it monitors mini-researches for teachers. It consists of 27 members.
  • Planning Council : The planning council performs an advisory role of preparing short and long-term plans, developing annual programmes and evaluating programme implementation. It consists of twenty-nine members.