Vice Chancellor of Kathmandu University Suresh Raj Sharma resigned



Vice Chancellor of Kathmandu University Suresh Raj Sharma resigned from the post. Suresh Raj Sharma was appointed as the Vice Chancellor of Kathmandu University in Jan 2012 for the Sixth time. He is the founder Vice Chancellor of Kathmandu University. 

He has resigned in the senate meeting of Kathmandu University which was sit for the 18th Convocation of Kathmandu University School of Medical Sciences. This step was not unexpected and the reason behind his resignation is not clear yet.

Earlier, expressing dissatisfaction over the repeated appointment of a single person as the Vice Chancellor (VC) at Kathmandu University (KU) for the sixth time, Dean at School of Education (SoE) , Prof. Dr. Man Prasad Wagle.

Kathmandu University professors' Assocation were in protest program since KU increased the salaries of top level personnel.


Yesterday Kathmandu University Professors Association (KUPA) urged Education Minister Dina Nath Sharma, who is also KU Chancellor, to take action against KU Officials, including Vice-chancellor, for increasing salaries of vice-chancellor, rector, registrar, and deans arbitararily.

He tendered his resignation at a Senate meeting during convocation ceremoney. Sharma also handed his resignation letter to Prime Minister and Chancellor of the KU Baburam Bhattarai. 

Following the resignation of VC Sharma, a three-member committee has been formed to recommend the name of new VC at KU led by Minister for Education Dinanath Sharma. Other members of the committee are Daman Nath Dhungana and Dr Lok Bikram Thapa.