New registrar, Dean, Exam controller appointed at Pokhara University



Share this on:

The Pokhara University (PU) on Tuesday got new office bearers. The posts had been lying vacant after the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA) lodged corruption case against most of the officer bearers at the Special Court.

Earlier, all the office bearers had resigned from the post after protests erupted over the appointments made by the Vice-chancellor.

Vice-chancellor Bishnu Raj Tiwari appointed following officials.

  1. Deepak Bhandari: Registrar
  2. Nirmala Jammarkattel: Examination controller
  3. Rajesh Thakurathi: Dean of management department, 
  4. Govinda Lamichhane: Dean of science and technology department
  5. Ajay Thapa: Dean of humanities department.

Prime Minister and University Chancellor Sushil Koirala had appointed Tiwari as the VC on November 6. Though Tiwari appointed other office bearers the very next day, the appointments were embroiled in controversy as the university employees protested dubbing that the appointments were against the law.