Nepal Medical Council's chairperson Dr. Damodar Gajurel resigned



Chairperson of Nepal Medical Council (NMC) Dr. Damodar Gajurel has resigned on Friday, citing lack of proper environment at the regulatory body to work. 
Chair person of NMC is nominated by Government of Nepal, from amongst doctors having a min. 20 yrs. Experience as registered doctors with master degree in medical science.
He tendered the resignation to Health Minister Vidyadhar Mallik today.  The NMC regulates the medical sector in the country and grants license to the medical practitioners.  
NMC has one chairperson, one vice chairperson, one rector and 17 members.  According to the existing laws, the government is obliged to consult the NMC while giving approval to establish and operate any medical college.