NAST awards 20 scientists, professors and students



The Nepal Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) has awarded as many as 20 scientist, professors and students in various 10 categories in recognition of their research, studies and investigation on science, technology and nature. The Science and Technology Award is the highest award in the field of science and technology established by NAST in 1986.

Federation of Community Forest Users Group has been awarded with Rs 200,000 for their contribution in conservation of forests and biodiversity in Nepal. 

Dr Tek Bahadur Gurung from Syangja, Dr Raba Thapa of Pyuthan and Prof Dr Bijaya Panta from Tehrathum were jointly given the Nabil Science and Technology prize carrying a purse of Rs 125,000 each. 

Similarly, Prof Dr Megharaj Dhital was awarded with ‘Science Award’ and Rs 100,000 cash prize for his contribution in the sector of geology while technology Award was given to Prof Dr Binaya Kumar Jha of Saptari for his contribution in environment sector. 

NAST awarded Dr Bhanu Bhakta Neupane of Gulmi, Dr Mahesh Kumar Joshi of Dadheldhura, Dr Ajay Poudel of Chitwan, Dipendra Gautam of Jhapa and Dr Indira Parajuli of Kaski with the Science and Technology Award carrying a purse of Rs 75,000.

Likewise, ‘Pragya Prathisthan Bigyan Tatha Prabidhi Prabardhan Purashkar’ was given to Madhav Prasad Adhikari of Kavrepalanchowk and Nepal Polymer Institute, Kathmandu. Both received the cash prize amounting to Rs 50,000. 

Similarly, Science and Technology Journalism Award was given to Umesh Kumar Ojha from Kailali district. He was awarded with Rs 50,000 cash prize.
On the occasion, Dr Sudip Thakuri of World Science Foundation, Kavre and Dr Sabin Basi of Kathmandu were honoured with USD 1,000 for their contribution in technology.
Minu Adhikari of Central Department of Botany in Tribhuvan University and Mitesh Shrestha of Central Department of Biotechnology were awarded with ‘Dayananda Bajracharya Research Award’ carrying the purse of Rs 25,000. 

Sarita Poudel, who is working in the Institute of Agriculture and Animal Science in Tribhuvan University, received ‘Phadinra Prasad Neupane Research Award’ along with Rs 50,000 cash prize. NAST Chancellor Dr Sunil Babu Shrestha had read out the congratulatory message sent by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli to NAST.

Distributing the awards, Minister for Education, Science and Technology Giriraj Mani Pokharel said that NAST had played an important role in the research of science and technology.
Stating that the awards would further motivate the researchers, professors and scientists for their research and innovations, Minister Pokharel shared that the government has forwarded the plan to establish a science museum to make more contributions in the field of science. 

NAST Chancellor Shrestha shared that NAST had taken the lead to introduce email service in Nepal for the first time and had sent Nepal’s first nano-satellite to outer space.