WWF Call for Nomination for Conservation Awards 2015

2015-08-10 - 2015-08-21

Application for Award

WWF, the global conservation organization, has been playing a pivotal role in Nepal since 1967 to conserve natural resources and ecological processes. With special focus on species, forests, climate change and freshwater, WWF works towards conserving nature through a combination of actions on the ground, national and international advocacy work to establish appropriate policies, and international campaigns to highlight and demonstrate solutions to crucial environmental problems.

WWF welcomes nominations for Conservation Awards 2015. Organizations and individuals working in the field of conservation, natural resource management, climate change, freshwater, tourism, sustainable livelihoods, journalism, and other related fields can nominate an individual and/or an organization for the following awards:

Abraham Conservation Awards

The Abraham Conservation Awards were established in 1995 by Ms. Nancy Abraham, an environmentalist, who was struck by the dedication and passion for conservation displayed by a national park staff. For the past 19 years, the Abraham Conservation Award has recognized and honoured people and organizations at the grassroots level that have made significant contributions to ensuring Nepal's rich biodiversity. It has also served as a means to raise awareness about the issues at stake and to motivate and inspire frontline conservationists.

Matthew Preece and Yeshi Choden Lama Young Conservation Leader Awards

In 2007, the Young Conservation Leader Awards were established in honor of Matthew Preece and Yeshi Choden Lama who despite being relatively young made their mark in the field of conservation before their untimely and tragic demise in 2006. Through this award, WWF identifies and recognizes the work of the new generation of committed young conservation leaders for their dedicated and outstanding contribution to conservation.

WWF Media in Conservation Awards

The WWF Media in Conservation Awards, also established in 2007, recognize the transformational roles of media persons/organizations in highlighting conservation issues in Nepal. The role of the media, whether print or electronic, is increasingly playing a key role in spreading the message of conservation. To encourage promising media persons and organizations in Nepal, each year WWF gives away this award to an individual or organization that best supports the value of conservation through their groundbreaking and inspiring work.

The recipients of the Conservation Awards are selected from the nominations received by an independent selection panel that comprises an eminent group experts. The awardees receive citations and cash prizes - NRs. 25,000 for individuals and NRs. 50,000 for organizations.

Application deadline: August 21, 2015 (Bhadra 4, 2072)

Detailed information and nomination forms can be downloaded from www.wwfnepal.org or are available at the following addresses:

  • Kangchenjunga Conservation Area Project, Taplejung. Tel: 024 460081
  • Langtang National Park and Buffer Zone Support Project, Rasuwa. Tel: 010 540130
  • Terai Arc Landscape - Corridors & Bottlenecks Restoration Project, Far Western Regional Forest Directorate Office Complex, Dhangadhi. Tel: 091 524025
  • Terai Arc Landscape - Protected Area and Buffer Zone Project, Sauraha, Chitwan. Tel: 056 580359
  • Koshi River Basin Management - Dudhkoshi Sub-Basin Project, Salleri. Tel: 038 520410
  • Koshi River Basin Management - Indrawati Sub Basin Project, Dhulikhel. Tel: 011 490953
  • Chitwan Annapurna Landscape, Pokhara. Tel: 061 537771

All hard copy nominations should be clearly addressed to:

Conservation Awards 2015 c/o WWF Nepal

PO Box: 7660

Baluwatar, Kathmandu, Nepal


wwf nepal.jpg