United Academy

Madhu Prasad Regmi Chairs the Long-term Vacant Teacher Service Commission


August 03, 2021
Last updated June 13, 2024
KMC Lalitpur

The Teacher Service Commission, which had been vacant for over a year, has finally been reconstituted. Former Secretary Madhu Prasad Regmi has been appointed as the chairperson, with Nanda Kumari Maharjan and Dr. Dilliram Rimal as members, according to Gyanendra Karki, spokesman for Nepal Government.

The three were appointed today, 9 months after the Selection Committee recommended them for the position. The newly appointed members of the Teacher Service Commission were recommended for appointment by the Selection Committee, which included Umesh Prasad Mainali-then chairman of the Public Service Commission, Dharmakanta Baskota-vice chancellor of Tribhuvan University, and Gopinath Mainali-then Education Secretary.

The chairperson is a former secretary, Maharjan is a retired principal of Janasewa Higher Secondary School in Kirtipur, and Rimal was a former joint secretary in the Ministry of Education.

The commission had been without a chairperson since the last Ashoj. Members Gyani Yadav and Sitaram Pokhrel's terms also expired in Mangsir 2075. Since then, none of the three positions have been filled. Long-term absence had impeded day-to-day organizational activity, as per current administrative chief Dinesh Kumar Shrestha.

CMAT Banner