Winners of 'NASO Women in Science Award' announced



Kathmandu, May 28 (RSS): The winners of the 'Women in Science Award' under various departments have been declared. The award has been instituted by Nepal Astronomical Society (NASO). 

Accordingly, Promisa Mishra has been named the winner of the NASO Women in Science Award-2018 under the professional category. Mishra is a computer engineer at Nepal Electricity Authority. 
Similarly, Ms Shreeti Shrestha is the winner of the Award under the student category. Shrestha is studying computer engineering at Pulchowk Engineering Campus. 

NASO chairman Suresh Bhattarai said the award will be given away amidst a special programme to be organised at Nepal Academy of Science and Technology on May 30. 
According to him, astronaut Dr Sandra Magnus will hand over the awards to the winners. 

Mishra will be presented with Rs 25,000 and a certificate while Ms Shrestha will be presented with Rs 15,000 and a certificate along with the award. 

Engineer Rishi Shah, a member of the NAST and the patron of NASO, has provided the amount for the award set up by member of NASO's board of directors En Manisha Duwal. 

NASO said 40 applications were received for the award which has been given away since last year.