Top six finalists announced for Glocal Teen Hero 2017


August 15, 2017
Last updated July 15, 2021

Kathmandu, August 15, 2017: After a fantastic response from teenagers around the nation, we are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Wai Wai Glocal Teen Hero 2017.

This year’s competition received over 320 applications, from fascinating teenagers demonstrating diverse potential of this often-underlooked age-group of people. The applicants had demonstrated their skills and expertise, and made an impact in their society, from areas like social work to journalism, from mobile app development and computer programming, to robotics, and from entrepreneurship to community development among others.

Albina Parwin(16 years, Social Activist,Sunsari), Ayush Pandey (17 years, Computer Programmer,Rupandehi), Prithu Singh Thakuri(19 years, Entrepreneur, Kathmandu), Rajaram Basnet (18 years, Social Activist, Dolakha), SachinDangi (18 years, Social Activist, Dang), and Tanmay Chaudhary (17 years, Social Activist,Dhangadhi),have been selectedamong top 6 candidates for the competition, the only national platform in Nepal to recognize and honor the outstanding teenagers.

Glocal Teen Hero is a platform for Nepali teenagers to share their initiation, creativity, and enthusiasm which will then motivate them and more of the other teenagers in the nation to develop an entrepreneurial thinking.

This is the third edition of the first ever program designed in the country to recognize dedicated, passionate, and innovative teenagers so as to encourage their initiatives. Bipana Sharma, a 17-year old child rights activist from Sunwal, Nawalparasi, and Santosh Lamichhane, a young scientist were felicitated with the First and Second Glocal Teen Hero awards in the years 2015 and 2016 respectively.

Started from inside the Kathmandu valley only in the year of inception,the competition this year had reached out to teenagers nationwide (16 different destinations to be precise), and conducted information sessions in various schools and colleges.

To make the program a grand success, this year, Glocal has partnered with Wai Wai, Coca-Cola, Panchakanya Group, Honda, QFX Cinemas, Toyota (VOITH)and Landmark Education. Nepal Tourism Board, European Union, UNDP and National Youth Council are the strategic partners for the program. Facts, IMS Group, KGH Group, YUWA, AYON, Restless Development, YES! Club World Nepal and View Your Choice are the supporters of the program. Soaltee Crowne Plaza is the official hospitality partner. Sparrow SMS is the SMS partner. Partnership with various such organizations working on youth-segment helped the program reach every nook and corners of the country, and ensured no teenagers having talents and potential were left-out from the competition.

The respected 5-member jury panel had shortlisted the6 amazing teens (ages 13-19) for their achievements, initiations or contributions in any other field outside of their respective school’s or college’s curriculum. The jury panel this year comprises of Mr. Renaud Meyer, UNDP Country Director to Nepal, Mr. Suraj Vaidya, President of Vaidya’s Organization of Industries, Mr. Upaul Majumdar, General Manager of Soaltee Crowne Plaza, Reecha Sharma, actress, and Ranjit Acharya, CEO of Prisma Advertising.

The selection was based on their resume, the evidence and an essay on their accomplishment.

These six teens will now go through a six-days-long capacity building workshop.

The finalistswould be individually interviewed by the panel of judges, and SMS voting round has opened that will select THE FANTASTIC TEEN for the year 2017.

To vote for the candidates, text the voting code of your favorite finalist to 33001. The voting codes for the finalists are:

  • 1.Albina Parwin- GTH ALK
  • 2.Ayush Pandey- GTH AP
  • 3.Prithu Singh Thakuri– GTH PST
  • 4.Rajaram Basnet- GTH RB
  • 5.Sachin Dangi- GTH SD
  • 6.Tanmay Chaudhary- GTH TC

Award ceremony of the Wai Wai Glocal Teen Hero will be held on 1st of September in the presence of 250+ personalities of Nepal from different walks of life, such as diplomats, politicians, film stars, entrepreneurs, youth leaders and many more. The celebration would also broadcast live on AP1 HD Television.