School Management phase II awarded six best schools in six districts


Himalayan News Service

Share this on:

The project Support for Improvement of School Management phase II (SISM II), awarded six best schools in six districts for successfully implementing the School Improvement Plan in a workshop in Lalitpur on July 25. 

The schools that received the award are

  1. Kalika Primary School of Solukhumbu District,
  2. Janapriya Secondary School of Rupandehi District,
  3. Bhagawati Primary School of Jumla District,
  4. Radhakrishna Higher Secondary School of Doti District,
  5. Bhuvaneshwori Primary School of Rasuwa District and
  6. Dholbhaniyang HSS of Dhading District. 

In that awarding function/ workshop, SISM II said that it supported the area of capacity development in school management, using SIP as a tool to revitalise various stakeholders from central level to school level till the end of its first project year. 

The project also shared its achievements, findings and learning from baseline and endline survey of the testing. 

SISM Phase I was conducted by the Department of Education in collaboration with Japan International Cooperation Agency from February 2009 to February 2011. 

After three years of piloting, SISM Phase I developed ‘SISM Model’ for capacity development of School Management Committee/Parent Teacher Association. With the aim to replicate the achievements of SISM Phase I, DoE, National Centre for Educational Development and Curriculum Development Centre launched SISM II in June 2013 in collaboration with JICA. 

SISM II aims at verifying, updating and further disseminating SISM model. During SISM Phase I and the first year of project of SISM II, about 30 trainers were trained at the central level. 

These central-level trainers trained around 120 resource persons and local education officers at the district level in six targeted districts namely, Dhading, Rasuwa, Solukhumbu, Rupandehi, Jumla, and Doti.