Krishna Malla bags National Education Journalism Award, other various awards to journos



Kathmandu, July 13(RSS): Rupandehi-based journalist Krishna Malla has been awarded the "National Education Journalism Award-2074 BS". 

Presenting the award carrying a purse of Rs 51,000 to journalist Malla associated with the 'Butwal Today' and 'Teachers' Monthly Magazine' amidst a programme at the Federation of Nepali Journalists (FNJ) central office here today, Minister for Education, Science and Technology, Giriraj Mani Pokhrel, insisted on the need of clearing anomalies seen in the education sector. According to the Education Minister, demands put forth by Dr Govinda KC would be addressed through a Medical Education Commission which is mentioned in the Medical Education Bill and preparations are underway to bring Dr KC to Kathmandu for talks. The government is worried about his health, and the government is sending a team to Jumla to bring him back to the capital.

Also speaking on the occasion, Education Secretary Khagraj Baral said the government wanted to work together with journalists to find a solution to problems existing in the education sector. 

FNJ chair Govinda Acharya said the award for Malla was for the recongision of his contribution to the education sector through the means of journalism. 

Likewise, on the occasion, "Provincial Education Journalism Award-2074 BS" that carries a purse of Rs 20,000 was conferred on eights journalists. They are Niroj Koirala ( Radio Nepal - Himalaya Times, Bhjopur-Province 1), Krishna Sigdel (Rajdhani Daily-Online Daily, Bara-Province 2) Chamar Singh Lama (Community Information Network, Kavrepalanchowk-Province 3), Pawan Poudel (Damauli FM, Tanahu- Gandaki Province), Parbati Pandey (Buddha Darpan Daily, Kapilvastu- Province 5), Meghraj Khadka (Karobar Daily, Rukum- Karnali Province), Gokarna Dayal (Gorkhapatra Daily, Baitadi-Province 7) and Chandra Baniya (Radio Nepal, Kathmandu- FNJ Valley province). 

Similarly, two journalists each from a province have received the "Provincial Education Fellowship-2074 BS" carrying a purse of Rs 15,000.

The awarded are Ramesh Chandra Adhikari (Kantipur Daily, Dhankuta) and Narayan Bhakta Rai (Blast Times Daily, Sunsari-Province 1); Nagendra Kumar Karna (Gorkhapatra Daily, Mahottari) and Deependra Prasad Singh (Janakpur Today, Dhanusha-Province 2); Mandira Thapa (Nepal Television, Dolakha) and Manoj Thapa (Artha Nepal Dotcom, Nuwakot- Province 3); Shanta Kamali (Naya Patrika, Lamjung) and Chhabilal Tiwari (Nagarik Daily, Parbat- Gandaki Province); Keshar Roka (Annapurna Post Daily, Pyuthan) and Tejendra KC ( Dainik Patra Daily, Rupandehi-Province 5); Narajan Tamang (Naya Patrika, Humla) and Ganesh BK ( Nagarik Daily, Rukum- Karnali Province); and Gagan Aidi ( Naya Patrika, Bajura) and Jagdish Rokaya (Annapurna Post Daily, Bajhang- Province 7). 

Neeta Sapkota (Nepal Television), Keshab Bhul (CIN) and Ramu Sapkota (Himal Weekly Magazine) have jointly won the fellowship from the FNJ Valley province. 

Likewise, the "Institutional/Organisational Educational Journalism Award-2074 BS", carrying a purse of Rs 20,000 has been awarded to Community Radio Solu FM (Solukhumbu- Province 1), Radio Nijgadh (Bara-Province 2), Radio Tintal (Ramechhap-Province 3), Manaslu FM (Gorkha- Gandaki Province), Radio Kripalu (Pyuthan- Province 5), Chankheli FM Radio (Kalikot- Karnali Province), Seti Community FM ( Bajhang- Province 7), and Radio Rajdhani (Kathmandu- Valley province). 

Similarly, "Institutional Education Journalism Award- 2074 BS" that is presented to the national dailies and television channels has been presented to the 'Nagarik Daily' (Kathmandu) and the 'Image Television' ( Kathmandu) while Education News Nepal Dotcom received the Award towards the online category. The award carries a purse of Rs 25,000. 
These annual awards are jointly presented by the FNJ and the Department of Education to journalists, FM radio, newspapers, magazines) and television channels on the basis of competition.