Five journalists get Shailaja Acharya Memorial Journalism Award



Share this on:

Biratnagar, Jan 9 (RSS): Minister for Information and Communications, Mohan Bahadur Basnet, has honoured five journalists amidst a function here today. 

At a programme organised by Nepal Press Union, Morang, editor of Naya Shristi Daily, Shanker Kharel, journalist of Udghos Daily, Bikram Niraula, and a journalist of Urlabari, Rupendra Sherma, were honoured with the Shailaja Acharya Memorial Journalism Award. 

The award carries a purse of Rs 15,000 and letter of felicitation. 

Similarly, Minister Basnet honoured a journalist of Makalu Television, Avaya Kumar Rai and a journalist Bharati Upadhyay with the 'Ram Prasad-Maya Devi Rijal Journalism Award'. The award carries a purse of Rs 15,000. 

On the occasion, Minister Basnet said the late woman leader Shailaja Acharya had a clean image and was always devoted for democracy, adding that the Nepali Congress has been facing lack of such personality. 

He said that the government would appoint provincial chiefs soon and the Prime Minister has been trying to forge consensus among political parties to declare provincial capitals. 
On the occasion, honoured Kharel had provided Rs 5,000 each to blind persons—Nikesh Thapa Magar, Krishna Koirala 'Charghare' and Ramesh Bhattarai 'Pakhe'.