E-attendance at municipality's public school


Himalayan News Service

Share this on:

Preparations are under way to install the electronic attendance system in public schools of Suryabinayak Municipality in Bhaktapur. 

Chief administrative officer Chiranjivi Timsina at the municipality said installation of e-attendance machines had been completed in nine schools by now. There are 40 public schools and 56 private schools in the municipality. 

“We have initiated this effort to maintain record of teachers' attendance in public schools,” said Timsina. He added that e-attendance would be useful to check on teachers' punctuality and total working hours spent in schools. 

“It is necessary for the municipality to upgrade so that the quality of education in public schools improves. So we have started this initiative to keep an eye on teachers and school activities,” Timisina said. “We have ordered school principals to submit the machine generated report to the municipality's education section for record keeping,” said education section officer, Sabita Dangal. 

The nine schools where the machines have been installed in the first phase are Saraswoti Secondary School of Kakrabari; Bhubaneswori Secondary School, Nankhel; Jorpati Secondary School, Nalinchowk; Shanti Niketan School and Ganesh Secondary School of Sipadol; Jyoti Secondary School of Gundu; Araniko Secondary School of Dadhikot; Sirutar Secondary School, Sirutar; and Mahendra Shanti Secondary School of Balkot.