Current Univerisites to remain Central, Provinces to get priority while opening New



Share this on:

Kathmandu, June 20: A delegation from the Nepal University Teachers' Association (NUTA) today called on Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba to submit a 19-point memorandum that sought status of central-level universities to different universities established in the country. The Association has demanded that universities to be established in future should be recognised as the provincial universities.

There are presently nine universities run under the investment of the state in the country. The Association, saying that it was not necessary for the State to open new universities as central universities, suggested that new universities should be under the supervision of provincial government by keeping following universities as central universities.

  1. Tribhuvan University,
  2. Nepal Sanskrit University,
  3. Pokhara University,
  4. Purbanchal University
  5. Kathmandu University,
  6. Lumbini Bouddha University,
  7. Mid-Western University,
  8. Far-Western University and
  9. Agriculture and Forestry University

Receiving the memo, PM Deuba said that the government was positive towards the demand. Talking to Rastriya Samachar Samiti (RSS), Association Chairman Rameshwor Upadhyay said, "All provinces have at least one university as a central university. There will be competition between central-level and provincial -level universities."

On the occasion, Prime Minister Deuba said that he was positive to move ahead on the basis of reorganization of central and province-level universities to make the higher education systematic.

The 19-point memo demands salary scale of TU teachers should be of SAARC-level, the creation of environment conducive for research and the formulation of higher education policy of federal Nepal.

The Association also submitted the memo to Deputy Prime Minister and Education Minister, Gopalman Shrestha today itself. RSS