Govt appoints provincial chiefs, fixes temporary Capitals



Share this on:

Jan 17, 2018

The government on Wednesday declared temporary headquarters of seven provinces and appointed provincial chiefs.

A Cabinet meeting at Prime Minister’s official residence in Baluwatar today made the decision to this effect.  According to the Cabinet decision, Biratnagar has been declared as temporary headquarters and Govinda Subba has been appointed the chief in Province 1; Janakpur has been declared as the Capital of Province 2 with Ratneshwor Lal Kayasta as the chief; and Hetauda has been fixed as Capital of Province 3 and Anuradha Koirala has been appointed its chief.

Likewise, the Cabinet meeting has declared Pokhara as the Capital and appointed Baburam Kunwar as provincial chief of Province 4, while Rupandehi has been declared as the Capital and Umakanta has been appointed as chief of Province 5, Surkhet has been named the Capital with Durga Khanal as the provincial chief of Province 6. Dhangadi has been fixed as the Capital of Province 7 with Mohan Raj Malla as its chief.