Fail provisions in SLC Scrapped, Grading system unveiled



Share this on:

Government of Nepal, Ministry of Education has decided to adopt grading system in SLC marksheets, scrapping the decades-old system in which marks obtained were mentioned. 

The new system will also mean none of the examinees will have ‘fail’ mentioned in their marksheets.  

The meeting under the Chairmanship of Education Minister Chitra Lekha Yadav decided to adopt the system in this year’s SLC exams for technical group and will be effective in both the general and technical groups from next year’s SLC exams.

According to Executive Director, Curriculum Development Centre, students will be awarded ‘A+’, ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘C’, ‘D’ and ‘E’ based on their performances in SLC exams.

The conversion of Grading and Percent is as follows:

  1. 90% and above: A+ (Distinction)
  2. 80-89%: A (Excellent)
  3. 60 to 79%:B (Very good)
  4. 40 to 59%: C (Good) and 
  5. 25 to 39% under the D (Weak) grades. 
  6. below 25%: E (Very weak) grade.