Educational centres closed due to strike


Himalayan News Service

Share this on:

 Five schools in Jajarkot were shut today following an indefinite strike called by the All Nepal National Independent Students’ Union-Revolutionary (ANNISU-R).

ANNISU-R, a student wing of the Unified CPN-Maoist, has launched the agitation following the Office of the Controller of Examination’s (OCE) decision to cancel the schools’ authority to hold the School Leaving Certificate (SLC) examination for two years following the irregularities in the SLC exam held in 2011-12.

OCE had sent the notice to District Education Office some days ago.

The five schools are that cannot hold exams are the Tribhuvan Higher Secondary School, Dalli, Bhanu Bhakta Higher Secondary School Khagankot, Bhayar Secondary School, Jikuwa, Janaki Secondary School, Khagenkot and Juni Bal Sanrakshran Secondary School, Sirke. The schools were accused of mismanaging the SLC exam last year.

Following the strike, hundreds of students studying in the schools have been deprived of taking their half-yearly examination which was scheduled for this month. The exam has now been postponed to next week.

Meanwhile, President of ANNISU-R, Jajarkot, Dev Raj Bohora has warned of launching an indefinite district-wide strike if the concerned authorities continue to be reluctant about addressing their demands. The District Education Office, Jagarkot, urged the OCE to let the schools operate as examination centres as earlier, expressing its commitment that such irregularities would not recur in the upcoming examination.

The Nepal Students Union, sister wing of the Nepali Congress, has also expressed its solidarity with the agitation launched by ANNISU-R.